The 2016 National Competitive Examination, which was scheduled on October 22, 2016 is postponed in Regions 1, 2, and CAR due to the impending Typhoon "Lawin" (International Name: Haima). The date of the examination has been moved to October 29, 2016.

The faculty, staff, and students of Philippine Science High School-Ilocos Region Campus (PSHS-IRC) support the nationwide call to end violence against women (VAW).

Various information, education, and communication (IECs) materials containing pertinent information on VAW were posted on conspicuous places all over the campus. 

“It is a saddening reality that we are still faced with such issues related to violence committed against women and even their children. Thus, it is important that, as an institution, we take part in intensifying the cause of this campaign even in our own little ways. It is our moral obligation to do so,” said Dr. Ronnalee N. Orteza, Campus Director.      

With the theme “End VAW Now! It’s Our Duty!: Gains and Ways Forward,” the 18-day campaign is observed annually from November 25 to December 12.

According to the Philippine Commission on Women website, the objective of this annual event is to increase awareness among all stakeholders that VAW is a national concern. It supports the Philippine Government’s goal to guard the human rights of women and its commitment to addressing all forms of VAW.


Out of 197 research project entries from all over the world, all four teams from the Philippine Science High School-Ilocos Region Campus brought home awards from the Malaysian International Young Inventors Olympiad (MIYIO) 2015 held from April 3 to 5 at Tun Syed ShehShahabudin Science Secondary School, Penang, Malaysia.

Nelle Alison P. Gacutan and Armina Nicole C. Balanon took home a gold award for their project entitled “Adsorption of Lead Using Zinc Oxide Microflowers.”

Meanwhile, Vibiene Norma C. Bernal and Erika Kate J. Chan each went home with a silver award for their research projects entitled “Characterization of Soro-Soro (Euphorbia neriifolialinn.)Latex for Natural Rubber Production,”and “Enzymatic Hydrolysis of Rice Straw for Bioethanol Production Using Extracts from Overripe Tomato Fruit (Solanumlycopersicum),”respectively.

The team of Camille Anne V. Aguinaldo and Anthony John D. Mangussad also received another silver award for their project entitled “Feasibility of Sweet Sorghum (Sorghum bicolor l. Moench) Bagasse and Cadena De Amor (Antigononleptopushook and arn) as Raw Materials in Cardboard Production.”

“All four groups were able to bag awards and it really feels amazing not only because we won but also, more importantly, because we feel that all our hard work and efforts in conducting our researches paid off,” said Gacutan.

“Winning it is also important in that it proves a point that the Philippines nurtures great inventors and has a bright future ahead as far as research and science and technology are concerned,” Balanon added.

Meanwhile, Dr. Ronnalee N. Orteza, Campus Director of PSHS-IRC, said that the event was a showcase of how IRC scholars can compete and even be at par with student researchers outside the country.

“To be able to nurture brilliant young minds of today and prepare them to be this country’s next legion of researchers and scientists may be a daunting task, but it’s worth it when you see them prove themselves and even perform well in the international arena,” said Dr. Orteza.        

All teams were accompanied by their adviser, Mr. Eddie Jay Domingo, and Ms. Monaliza Mandac.

According to its website, MIYIO is an international competition of schools organized by Tun Syed ShehShahbudin Science Secondary School, the Malaysian Ministry of Education, University Sains Malaysia, and RCE Penang. It aims to expand the application of science and engineering knowledge for problem solving and use in daily life, as well as create awareness and a growing interest among students and teachers about the benefits and wonders of science. - Romulo A. Bagacina Jr.

1. Aguinaldo, Camille Anne V.
2. Balanon, Armina Nicole C.
3. Bulatao, Hera Bianca C.
4. Bernal, Vibiene Norma C.
5. Cas, Alicia T.
6. Castillo, Raisa Mikaella G.
7. Dolor, Rey Christian D.
8. Dumlao, Alicia Theresse
9. Espago, Joseph Miguel A.
10. Ila, Van Ralph U.
11. Liclican, Sephi Marz G.
12. Lim, Cerx Lorenz,
13. Lopez, Francis Gabriel R.
14. Nalundasan, Christian Joshua D.
15. Norcio, Michael D.
16. Racoma, Vincent John P.
17. Soquila, Christine Edna R.
18. Sulicipan, Kristn Margarette C.
19. Tayaban, Jumee F.
20. Tungpalan, Alvin Ralph A.
21. Valenciano, Diana Marce A.